Back to All Events

Aac//107: Alon Ilsar and Hinterlandt

  • 107 Projects 107 Redfern Street Redfern, NSW, 2016 Australia (map)

AAC//107 is a monthly showcase of progressive, experimental and thoughtful local music, presented by Art As Catharsis, 107 and City of Sydney.

This month we have:
Alon Ilsar performs Trigger Happy 'Visualised' (live IDM / breakcore / progressive electronica / audio-visual)

Hinterlandt (progressive chamber music / neo-classical)

Doors 8pm, entry is $15.
As always, kids under 18 get in free.


Alon Ilsar performs Trigger Happy 'Visualised'

Alon Ilsar is an Australian drummer, composer, sound designer and instrument designer. He is co-designer of a new interface for electronic percussionists called the AirSticks, using the instrument in projects such as The Hour, The Sticks, Thundamentals, Tuka, Kirin J Callinan, Silent Spring, Trevor Dunn and Brian Campeau. 

His diverse projects include Meow Meow with the London Philharmonic Orchestra, Ground Patrol, Gauche and Darth Vegas. For this solo audio-visual performance, Alon Ilsar is teaming up with visual artist Matt Hughes to bring to life the music from Alon's collaboration with Greg Seiler, Trigger Happy, out now through Art As Catharsis under their alias Comatone and Foley.

Excerpt of show:

"manipulate[s] electronics in an incredibly slick and excitingly choreographed performance that saw him ringed in a spinning vortex of colour projected onto a scrim, his every movement mirrored instantly in spectacular sound and visuals (by artist Matt Hughes)." - Limelight



For many years now, Sydney’s post-chamber ensemble Hinterlandt has been known to push boundaries, disregard norms and experiment with formats. 

For this concert, the quartet will set up in the centre of the room, surrounded by the audience. Lighting and amplification will be scarce. The idea is to create an intimate atmosphere in which the audience is situated close to the musicians, to guarantee a pure and placid listening experience.

The group will perform selected works from its three Art as Catharsis releases: "Sollbruchstelle" (2018), "Ode to Doubt" (2017), and "Ensemble" (2016).


Earlier Event: February 6
The Sounds Unsound Presents #23
Later Event: February 8
The Necks - Wollongong